History of Tibet

Tibet has a history dating back over 2,000 years. In its long and eventful history, the country has been both independent and occupied at various stages. At times, Tibet extended its rule over neighboring countries, and at times it found itself under the rule of foreign administrations. At the start of the 7 th century, Tibet was unified and Namri Srongtsen, lord of Yarlung became the first king of Tibet. This period, was also known as Tibets imperial age, when all the divided states came under the rule of a single ruler.

From the 7th to 11th century, a series of emperors ruled Tibet. Among them the most noted ones are King Srongtsen Gampo, during whose reign much of the famous monasteries and palaces were built and Lhasa was made the capital city, Trisong Deutsen, and Ralpachan. Langdarma was the last ruler of a unified Tibet. During the thirteenth century, Tibet signed an agreement with the Mongol rulers who, under Genghis Khan had expanded their empire towards Europe in the west and China in the east. Political allegiance and religious blessings and teachings were exchanged for patronage and protection. It wasnt until 18th century that Tibet came under foreign influence, when British troops occupied Lhasa. From 1911 to 1950, Tibet successfully remained a fully independent state. But in 1949, the Peoples Liberation Army crossed into Tibet, in the name of liberating it. In 1959, there was a huge explosion of Tibetan resistance, following which hundreds of thousands of Tibetans fleed their homeland with Dalai Lama to India. In 1965, one of Tibets three provinces was named the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) by Chinese authorities.

Quick Enquiry